1. Account registrations are now currently closed - check back again soon.

windows 10 Installation

Discussion in 'SW Helpdesk' started by oorja, Aug 30, 2016.

  1. oo

    oorja Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    394
    I will be having fresh windows 10 installation.Of course medicine will be applied.
    Do i still need to take care of spy activities carried by this OS.
    And if yes what is the best way to implement.
     
  2. Especialista

    Especialista is a Trusted Warez PosterEspecialista B4A Enforcer Staff Member Super Moderator DEV Guild Reverser Translator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    14,657
    Likes Received:
    39,905
    Always!
    Just google for "disable windows 10 spy tool" and you get a lot of information on how to do it!
     
  3. FriendOfGhost

    FriendOfGhost is a Trusted Warez PosterFriendOfGhost Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    4,925
    About my windows 10 experience, I installed windows 10 on my computer and virtual machine a lot, using different medicines, it still talks a lot.

    I have licensed windows 10 on my pc and laptop as main OS, I cannot even monitor which service is talking to whom. I have windows firewall control application installed so I can block and see traffic requests and I'm tired of clicking block this, allow that game.

    I mostly sleep my desktop instead of shutting down, it wakes up while watching television, while in my sleep at the middle of the night, install something.... I'm really sick of looking of wakeup reasons. looks like network cards, mouse, usb devices, sata bus, everything wakes windows 10. there are scheduled timers, a lot, blah blah. for God's sake whay a computer wakes up from hibernation ?

    there are some applications, I believe one is "shut windows 10 up" which pretty much does the job, but whatever you do it will still talk...

    as most of the applications, database servers, visual studio and other stuff won't work on windows7, you have to learn to live with it.

    good luck.
     
  4. ramazan_t

    ramazan_t is a Trusted Warez Posterramazan_t Honorary Member Honorary Member DEV Guild Translator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5,898
    Likes Received:
    43,569
    I'm using Windows 10, and disabled all spy activities. I used O&O ShutUp10 tool. It's completely free.

    Home Page :
    Code:
    https://www.oo-software.com/en/shutup10
    Direct Download Link :
    Code:
    https://dl5.oo-software.com/files/ooshutup10/OOSU10.exe
     
    cheeks, dbpreston, Wonderman and 4 others like this.
  5. nahual

    nahual Registered User

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    4,948
    Mine copy has been running kmsm!cr0 since day one, Win10 Ent. 2015 LTSB.
    No extra spy blocking tools and haven't seen any issues yet, VS studio 2015 etc updates regularly just fine.

    I'll try the O&O ShutUp10 to see what is up, last time I tried a tool like this & windows stop communicating with the update service and would not update so I had to uninstalled.
     
  6. kocrotus

    kocrotus Registered User

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1,430
    Try checking the task scheduler, ms put a lot of task for win 10 in that area, including the windows update, check disk, defragmenter, customer feedback, etc .

    I check all of them 1 by 1 and disabled most of the ms stuff scheduler, I don't know why they put these heavy task there. My win run smoother and "more quite" after I disabled all of these unwanted ms task.

    For new win 10, the task scheduler is the first place you must go and disable all unneeded ms stuff job
     
  7. sa

    sachinaut Registered User

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    856
    Use firewall and only allow web browser like chrome to access web ports (80, 8080, 8443, 443) and FTP ports (21) in upward connect for best safety.
     
  8. so

    soliver84 Registered User

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    28
    Hardware Firewall an Block Ports
     
  9. dr

    drac13 Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    spy activity ... did you mean the information sharing happening on background, disconnect windows from internet and air gap [who knows what new method is there ;) ] ...
     
  10. sa

    sachinaut Registered User

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    856
    Yes one cannot 100% firewall, Most of firewalls by default allow outgoing to [NT Kernel & System] plus to any new application not in default rules. For extreme security set default setting to "block all apps not in rules" and only allow port 80,443 for "browser executable only". Now you've two issues lot of popups saying that some app wants to access internet and to create rule for it. I guess this can be handled with patience :). Other bigger problem is system issues for that must create following two rules in firewall for LAN/local connections only

    1. Allow all outgoing from any application or services etc if target is 192.168.0.0/255.255.0.0 (guessing that LAN is 192.168.*.* addresses)
    2. Allow all incoming from any application or services etc if receiver is 192.168.0.0/255.255.0.0 (guessing that LAN is 192.168.*.* addresses)
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2018
    Wonderman likes this.
  11. trifid

    trifid Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    77
    Check out:: https://www.winprivacy.de/english-home/

    Though german (it has an english site and interface) its a nice clear program. That shows you exactly whats being 'spyied' on. Allows you to shut it down quickly and easily. And If you a re a bit of an OCD freak, it will also quickly remove all the store apps, onedrive, cortana etc to give you a nice clean, private windows 10. (until the next stupid update - that will put everything back)

    (Its freeware by the way, and I have nothing to do with the software or the Author - I'm just a happy end user)
     
    cheeks and Wonderman like this.
  12. dbpreston

    dbpreston Registered User

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    257
    Best is stop it from Updating Itself ,
    that's how it undoes the "meds" that was applied

    Best way to do this

    Easy .. Use --> GPedit.msc

    -- Admin template --> Windows Comp --> Windows Updates --> Set All the Settings under this to disabled ..

    Here is a Link if you get lost ...
    https://www.rizonesoft.com/disable-windows-10-updates-group-policies/


    Once you have done this ..
    Then Apply all the "meds" you want ,, :)
     
  13. FriendOfGhost

    FriendOfGhost is a Trusted Warez PosterFriendOfGhost Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    4,925
    Almost a month ago I used my first windows 10 iso to install for a simple computer test. It's the first iso before any updates by microsoft from the times windows 10 just released. While I had no connection to internet I made every possible things known to shut up windows 10. I was sure It won't update anything. I used all methods mentioned above. Every one of them, I was very careful.

    Then I connected network cable, adapter got IP address, I started to organize desktop then BOM.... "Your system very old, there are critical updates, blah blah blah". And even it was written as a huge message (like low battery warning) across screen with red background.

    I immediately deleted all partitions and installed windows 7.

    I don't think we can stop spying nor communication with microsoft at all. Usually update checks, license checks take some time, maybe 10 minutes, 20 minutes or one hour... But that was fast.
     
  14. sa

    sachinaut Registered User

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    856
    Keep your internet off still you may receive update message based on either last cache or timer. Like adobe shows update even if computer is never connected to internet physically.
     
  15. H4

    H4nZ83 Registered User

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    43
    just installed windows 10 Pro, and i've been following all the instruction mentioned here and it works

    my hardware have been discontinued from intel support, but it still can update all the drivers, and used all of my peripherals (most of them was onboard) just using the update drivers features.